University of Delhi

The University of Delhi (DU) got established in 1922 by an act of the central legislative assembly. It has academic departments and affiliated colleges. University, in the beginning, has only three affiliated colleges, two faculties and 750 students at its founding.

College Students Diploma Graduate
marcela_net / Pixabay

Now Delhi University is the largest Institute of learning in India it is one of the largest institutions in the world. Currently, University has 16 faculties and 86 departments, two campuses ( North and South),77 affiliated colleges and 5 other Institutes. It has over 132000 regular students and 261000 non-formats students.

While establishing this University under British India it was argued to be named after Prince Charles, but Rai Kedarnath (founder of Ramjas College was not happy, he suggested to the Britishers if this experiment of establishing a huge University fails than it would antagonize the prince. Later he suggested it be named as the University of Delhi, popularly known as DU now. Hari Singh Gaur was the first Vice-chancellor to the University. He served from 1922 to 1926. Initially, University has only two faculties (art and science) and approximately 750 students.

In 1937 Post Graduate course were added to the university and laboratories were established in the University. This reform was done by the then VC Sir Maurice Gwyer who came to India to serve as chief justice to British India. He served this University till 1950. He is known as the maker of the University of Delhi Under his guidance and service as VC the University has grown and many more colleges were added it.

The University has celebrated its silver jubilee in 1947 along with the independence of India and golden jubilee in 1973.
Largest University of India

The University has attained the status of the largest university of India. At present, it has 16 faculties. 86 academic departments, 77 colleges, and 6 other recognized institution spread across the city. It has 132435 regular students (114494 under UG programme and 17941 under PG programme)It also has non-formal education programmes having 261169 students (2,58831 in UG and 2,336 in PG programmes)

Campus and Colleges

Delhi University has two campuses North campus and South campus.
North Campus_ North campus has the following colleges
• Kirori Mal College
• Daulat Ram College
• Hansraj College
• Hindu College
• Swami Sharaddhanand College
• Indraprastha College for Women
• Miranda House
• SGTB Khalsa Collge
• Ramjas College
• St. Stephen’s College
• Shri Ram College of Commerce
• Dyal Singh College
The extended campus also has colleges in Old Rajender Nagar, Pitampura and Ashok ViharIt has other Institutes like
• Cluster Innovation Centre
• Delhi School of Economics
• Delhi Scholl of Journalism
• Zakir Hussain College
• The Ambedkar Centre for Biomedical Research

South Campus_ South Campus was started by Delhi University in 1973. It is located on Benito Juarez Marg near Dhaula Kuan. This campus is spread across 28 hectares (69 acres) It has various departments located in the faculty of arts, Interdisciplinary, Applied Science, and the S.P Jain center for Management Studies.
South Campus Has the following Colleges:-
• Acharya Narendra Dev College
• Aryabhatta College
• Moti Lal Nehru College
• Ram Lal Anand College
• Atma Ram Sanatan Dharm College
• College of Vocational Studies
• Ramanujan College
• Deshbandhu College
• Deshbandhu College
• Dyal Singh College
• Jesus and Mary College
• Maitreyi College
• Panalal Girdharilal Dayanand Anglo Vedic College
• Sri Aurobindo College
• Shaheed Bhagat Singh College
• Delhi College of Arts and Commerce
• Venkateswara College

Note: – East Campus is also established the University College of Medical Science

Recognised Institutes

• The Institute of life long Learning (ILLL)
• The Ahilya Bhai College Of Nursing
• The Amar Jyoti Institute of Physiotherapy
• The Durga Bai Deshmukh College of Special Education
• Pt. Deen Dyal Upadhyaya Institute for the Physically Handicapped
• School of Rehabilitation Sciences

Affiliated Institutions

• Army Hospital (Research and Referral)
• Central Health Referal Bureau
• G.B Pant Hospital
• Hindi Rao Hospital
• Institute of Human Behaviour and Allied Sciences
• Institute of Nuclear Medicine and Allied Sciences
• Kasturba Hospital
• National Institute of Health and Family Welfare

There are 240 courses available in University of Delhi UG (87) and PG (153). 75 courses in University are running under 3-year undergraduate programmes. These courses are classified under the three faculties of the university including Arts, Science, and Commerce.
The University also offers 70 PG courses. It also offers Mphil in 28 subjects, 90+ Certificate Courses, and 28 Diplomas. 15 advance Diplomas in various languages. The University offers Ph.D. courses. Medical Degrees like MD, DCh, etc.

Delhi Univesity

University of Delhi Colleges List